Technical FAQs

Ask a Question

PowerChute Network Shutdown VM priority groups explained

Issue:
What are priority groups in PowerChute Network Shutdown?

Product Line:
PowerChute Network Shutdown version 4.x

Environment:
PowerChute Network Shutdown version 4.x configured with VMware vCenter Server. 

Cause:
Informational

Solution:

Virtual Machines can be grouped into  priority groups - High, Medium, Low, and any remaining will be un-prioritized. When VM Prioritization is enabled, an inventory view of the datacenter, clusters and VMs appears on the left. On the right, the High, Medium and Low priority groups are listed.

You can assign a VM to a priority group by clicking on a VM on the left hand side and dragging it to a priority group on the right. You can select multiple VMs by pressing the CTRL key on the keyboard while clicking on the VMs you want to move. You can also click on the cluster icon to select all VMs within that cluster, or click on the datacenter icon to select all clusters of VMs within that datacenter.

Move VMs between priority groups by dragging them from one group to another. To remove a VM from a priority group, select the VM and click the Remove button. Any VM in the inventory that is not assigned to a priority group is considered to be Un-prioritized.

If as in the example above the Un-prioritized group has a delay set to zero any powered on VMs that are not included in the High, Medium, Low groups will be skipped during the shutdown process. The Un-prioritized VMs will remain powered on. This may be helpful when working with VMs that need to remain running after the vCenter Server VM is shut down e.g. Storage or Controller VMs. If these VMs require graceful shutdown, then an external script can be configured via the Shutdown Command file feature in PowerChute to do this. Please note that these VMs that will not be powered up automatically by PowerChute if VM Startup has been enabled. 

NOTE: Setting Un-prioritized VMs with a zero delay in VM Migration and VM Startup will have the same affect. The Un-prioritized VMs will not be migrated to available host/s or powered back on. 
Was this helpful?
What can we do to improve the information ?